PHIL LIGGETT: FREEDOM TO ROAM VIRTUAL ADVENTURE
12 & 13 JUNE 2021

Join Phil Liggett – the global voice of cycling – as he hosts four exhilarating, virtual safari cycle routes through dramatic African landscape teeming with wild animals. The four rides were filmed at Kariega Game Reserve, a breathtakingly beautiful Big 5 safari destination in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. Freedom To Roam Adventures, in partnership with FulGaz and Kariega Game Reserve, bring you this exclusive opportunity to share in Phil and Trish Liggett’s two great loves (cycling and conservation) and join the Freedom To Roam Adventures legacy.

You can ride all four events, or join the PROTOUCH Pro Cycling riders and Sports Director Tony Harding on the 12 June 2021 at 17:00 SAST, who will accompany Phil to talk about his #1 Team in Africa and Africa’s Toughest Tour – the Tour du Rwanda.

How to Join Phil’s Safari Peloton

Anyone can join Phil’s four-part virtual safari peloton. Entries for cyclists and spectators are NOW OPENSecure your limited seat for this exclusive opportunity by making a minimum US$40 donation.

Once you have donated, you will be emailed the Zoom links to join Phil’s once-off live discussions as he hosts the four-part virtual rides in a Big 5 wilderness area. The live interactive Zoom events will be held on 12 & 13 June 2021 (times below). Donors will also be sent links to the recorded events.

Join us for Phil’s legendary insights, inspiring discussions with celebrity riders and interviews with conservationists who will shine the light on the Kariega Foundation projects that the event is supporting.

Funds Raised Support Holistic Conservation

The beneficiary of Phil’s African Safari Peloton is the Kariega Foundation, a non-profit trust working in partnership with Kariega Game Reserve to deliver on a broad and holistic conservation mandate. All funds raised support projects with the core motive to protect, preserve and educate so that we may reform that which threatens our natural world and build a greater conservation community that works collectively to rejuvenate our planet, people and wildlife.

Zoom Event Overview

VIRTUAL SAFARI CYCLE 3: PLAINS LOOP. Saturday, 12 June 2021
Zoom Start Time (Time Zones): 8am (PDT), 11am (EST), 4pm (BST), 5pm (SAST), 11pm (AWST), 1am Sunday (AEST)
Distance and Description: 31.66km. 529 elevation gain. Starting on the Blesbok Plains keep an eye out for three sleeping rhinos on your right not long after you start. This ride has the most amount of climbing in our safari series. The steepest climb is known as Lancedale, which you will tackle towards the end of the ride before looping back around to Blesbok Plains to finish.
Zoom Discussion: PRESERVATION – Rhino translocations, habitat expansion and genetic preservation.
Additional Donations: US$60 – funds the average cost of a rhino tracking collar.

Habitat expansion and restoration is essential to the survival of many wild and endangered species and the current focus for many conservationists. Kariega Game Reserve has recently received the donation of a critical piece of habitat carrying significant conservation benefits for elephant and rhino in particular. Funds are required to facilitate the translocation of a crash of rhino to the new habitat.

VIRTUAL SAFARI CYCLE 4: RIVER ROUTE. Sunday, 13 June 2021
Zoom Start Time (Time Zones): 2am (PDT), 5am (EST), 10am (BST), 11am (SAST), 5pm (AWST), 7pm (AEST)
Distance and Description: 14.6km. 251m elevation gain. A relatively flat ride which begins in the open plains before moving into a forest. You will follow some animal tracks back to the Bushman’s river before circling back around to River Lodge. The thatched River Lodge connects the Big 5 game reserve with the Indian Ocean and offers ten luxury suites.
Zoom Discussion: EDUCATION – Community Wildlife and Ecology Camps (10 pax / 4 nights)
Additional Donations: US$35 – funds one learner for one day of the camp.

Environmental education is a critical element of sustainable conservation efforts. While protection is essential in the short to medium term, environmental education and reconnecting people to nature is essential to the long term survival of many species and our planet. The Kariega Foundation is committed to changing the hearts and minds of the youth in our neighbouring communities and encouraging them to join our conservation efforts, through immersive and inspiring wildlife and ecology camps.

https://www.kariega.co.za/about/phil-liggetts-african-safari-peloton